At United Way we currently have two openings – for a Resource Development Assistant and Director of Program for the Western New York Women’s Fund.  We decided a nice way to try to find someone to fill this opening was to speak with the last person to be hired – Beth, our new HR Manager, and to ask her a bit about her experience coming into her new job.  Here’s what she said:

My impression of United Way as a place of work was always positive – I knew it had been recognized as one of the best places in WNY to work. My interview and ongoing experience reconfirmed that notion. Everyone was so welcoming and helpful and united in a purpose. I could sense the upbeat environment almost immediately.

Participating on the board at Meals on Wheels as their Personnel committee chair and volunteering at the Urban League is part of what sparked my interest in the non-profit world. Previously having worked for a large company, it is a nice change of pace to work for a smaller organization. As HR Manager at the United Way I hope to keep that sense of family, and do my part to improve the local community as I recruit for new staff members.

When I accepted my current position as HR Manager I was returning to work after being home to raise my sons as well as being caregiver to my Grandmother. The staff was so generous with their time going above and beyond as I adjusted to my new position and being back in the workforce. When my Grandmother did pass away about three weeks into my new position I received a handwritten letter of condolence from our President and CEO Michael Weiner and it was then I knew for sure I was working for an organization that truly cared for its employees.

Are you currently looking for a job, and may  be interested in one of the positions we have available? Click here for more information. We look forward to you joining our family!

Leave a Reply

